Republic of North Macedonia

Republic of North Macedonia


Mandated Organisation

University Ss Cyril and Methodius in Skopje, Faculty of Computer Science and Engineering (FCSE-UKIM)

EOSC Steering Board representatives

Republic of North Macedonia recognises the importance of Open Science policies and practices. In that context, North Macedonia nominated members in the EOSC Governance Board in 2020. With the establishment of the EOSC Association, University Ss. Cyril and Methodious (UKIM), Faculty of Computer Science and Engineering (FCSE) has become a full member. The Government has nominated representatives in the EOSC Steering Board.

Within the framework of the project National Initiatives for Open Science – Europe (NI4OS-Europe), in 2021 the National Open Science Cloud initiative – was established. The started with the individual support of around 100 scientist and researchers from the country who signed the declaration to support

During 2022, UKIM, represented by FCSE, the only country member of the EOSC Association, signed an MoU for institutional support to the with all the state universities and the national research and education network MARNET.

The MoU is currently being signed with more research institutions, private universities and other interested parties. The recently adopted Roadmap on Research Infrastructures recognises the importance of EOSC and recommends the development of national infrastructures compatible to EOSC.

In 2021, the Ministry of Education and Science provided support for the development of the National Open Science Laboratory. UKIM, FCSE was awarded 70% funding from the Ministry  to procure the equipment to establish the National Open Science Laboratory.