EOSC-A welcomes 5 new Members and 5 new Observers

LEUVEN — At its 8th General Assembly today, the EOSC Association welcomed five new Members and five new Observers to the EOSC-A family. The 10 organisations are spread across seven European countries and were voted unanimously into the Association on 27 May 2024.

Considering resignations and transitions between membership and observership, the EOSC Association’s 2024 member base is comprised of 257 organisations, including 160 Members and 97 Observers.

The Danish e-Infrastructure Consortium (DeiC), which previously participated in EOSC-A under the umbrella of the Technical University of Denmark (DTU), has now obtained its own legal status and will become a Member, replacing DTU as Denmark’s Mandated Organisation. Stichting Health-RI (HRI) has merged with EOSC-A Observer Stichting Dutch Techcentre for Life Sciences (DTL), and has now upgraded to Member status.

New Members

Aragonese Institute of Health Sciences (IACS) 

The Aragonese Institute of Health Sciences (Instituto Aragonés de Ciencias de la Salud, IACS) is an entity that promotes knowledge in Biomedicine and Health Sciences in Aragon. Its creation is based on Law 6/2002, of 15 April, on Health in Aragon, which establishes that the IACS is a public law entity attached to the department responsible for health-related questions within the government of Aragon, granting it legal personality and its own assets. The IACS carries out its activity with the expectation of contributing to high-quality care in the public health system, supporting innovation, excellence in research and training, as well as supporting the creation of wealth and economic growth.

Danish e-Infrastructure Consortium (DeiC)

Danish e-infrastructure Consortium (DeiC) is the collaboration with and between the Danish universities. DeiC coordinates the delivery and development of the national digital research infrastructure. DeiC’s purpose is to ensure computing power, data storage and network infrastructure for Danish research and education. In the EOSC Association, DeiC will take over the position of the Technical University of Denmark (DTU), which has been acting on DeiC’s behalf. Once approved, DeiC will be appointed as the Danish Mandated Organisation.

The Dutch Research Council (NWO)

The Dutch Research Council (Nederlandse Organisatie voor Wetenschappelijk Onderzoek, NWO) is one of the most important science-funding bodies in the Netherlands and ensures quality and innovation in science. Each year NWO invests more than 650 million euros in curiosity-driven research and research related to societal challenges. NWO selects and funds research proposals based on the advice of experts from science and society from the Netherlands and abroad. NWO encourages national and international collaboration, invests in large-scale research facilities, promotes knowledge utilisation, and manages research institutes. NWO funds more than 5 600 research projects at universities and knowledge institutions.


Jisc is the UK digital, data and technology agency focused on tertiary education, research and innovation. We are a not-for-profit organisation and believe education and research improves lives and that technology improves education and research. We provide managed and brokered products and services, enhanced with expertise and intelligence to provide sector leadership and enable digital transformation.

Stichting Health-RI (HRI) 

Health-RI’s mission is better health(care) for citizens and patients by reusing health data with an integrated health data infrastructure for research, policy and innovation. Health-RI has a track record of working on EOSC-related activities, the majority of which originate from The Dutch Techcenter for Life Sciences (DTL). Being a key national player for national health data infrastructure and Thematic Digital Competent Center (TDCC) for life science & health research, Health-RI aims to co-design EOSC as the cross-connecting European infrastructure driving FAIR-based data access across disciplines for the Netherlands and beyond. Health-RI also actively contributes to other major European initiatives such as, the European Strategic Forum on Research Infrastructures (ESFRIs), and the European Health Data Space (EHDS) to enable high-efficiency, high-impact research for the health benefit of European citizens and patients.

New Observers

European Clinical Research Infrastructure Network (ECRIN-ERIC)

ECRIN-ERIC is a European Research Infrastructure facilitating multinational clinical research through the provision of advice and services for the set-up and management of investigator- or SME-led clinical studies in Europe. ECRIN unites national networks of clinical trial units across Europe, through its scientific partners, to fulfil its vision of generating scientific evidence to optimise medical practice. By supporting clinical trials across borders and advising on and implementing policies, ECRIN advances knowledge flow, competitiveness and integration in European clinical research.

Flanders Marine Institute (VLIZ)

The Flanders Marine Institute (VLIZ) is the coordination and information platform for marine scientific research in Flanders. The VLIZ is a focal point for marine and coastal-related research and serves as an international contact point. The VLIZ signs cooperation agreements with Flemish research groups and administrations and furthermore integrates its activities in national and international networks. Major activities are the management of the Flanders Marine Data and Information Centre (VMDC), the Infodesk, the Sea Library and the research vessel ‘Simon Stevin’.

The Open University

The Open University is a global leader in higher education able to reach every adult in the United Kingdom – and many others across the world. The Open University offers flexible part-time study, supported distance and open learning for undergraduate and postgraduate courses and qualifications.

Université Clermont Auvergne (UCA)

The University Clermont Auvergne is a multidisciplinary university which has 20 colleges, institutes and schools, including two engineering schools. They offer 165 educational trainings and have a long tradition of receiving foreign students in the framework of their 500 cooperation agreements in Europe and in the rest of the world.

University of Helsinki (UH) 

The University of Helsinki is located in Finland. It is the oldest and largest institution of academic education in the country. The university is an international scientific community of 40 000 students and researchers. In international university rankings, the University of Helsinki typically ranks in the top 1 %. Through the power of science, the University has contributed to society education and welfare since 1640.

Share this article: